Skip to content
English - United States
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

SDL Connect: Online Plan Review

The basic steps for using SDL Online Plan Review for SDL Connect users

Setting up Online Plan Review options in the Form Designer.

In the Form Designer, open Settings, then Permits. 

With permits enabled, check the box beside "Enable Plan Review" to turn on OPR options.
 
In the next popup, set the default users and groups for OPR for this permit type. 
Add in the Administrative User.  This role will be added as Town Official on a plan review by default. This user must be set up as an SDL Connect user and will:
    • Have access to view a plan review regardless of their Connect permissions
    • Have access to some features depending on their Connect permissions

 

Add in Review Groups.  Each Review Group needs one Review Group Official.  Adding other review group members is optional.  You must have at least one Review Group but you can have multiple.  Groups can be added here or in the Online Plan Review page after the plan review is created.  The Review Group Official must have an SDL Connect user account with Online Plan Review permissions.

Most of the time, you will want to leave the option to "Use uploaded plans (Plan Upload section must be added to form)" checked.  This will allow plans that were uploaded with the application to be used in the review.

 

In the final section, Plan Review Letters, edit the templates that you will be using for approval and denial letters.  

 

Starting an Online Plan Review

In the permit submission record, open the Plan Review tab.  At the bottom left, click on Start Plan Review. This will pop up a new window with the defaults set for that permit.  You can edit as needed.  

The Main Contact will default to the applicant but can be changed.  This is often the contractor or whoever is going to be responsible for amending plans if anything is wrong.

The Agent is the Project Owner.

Click save.  This will open the Online Plan Review page.

 

Locating an Existing Plan Review

If you need to open an existing plan review, go to the Plan Review tab on the permit submission and you will see Show Plan Review now.  Click on it to open the Online Plan Review Page.  

Alternatively, if you are on the OPR page and know the application number, you can also search it here:

 

 

Preparing for a Plan Review

Once you are in the plan review window, you will be prompted to add a review group and official if there is not one already.
 
Plans should be imported from the application if you checked the option to do so. 
If you need to add plans, choose the "Upload Project Plans" option and follow the prompt.  Be sure to set a plan type (checking off a new version of this plan type should only be used if you already have a plan uploaded and assigned to that plan type) for your first set of plans.  

 

Add additional review groups if necessary.

 

Conducting a Plan Review

When you’re ready to start the clock on the plan review, select “Allow Access”  in the Next Steps section on the Overview page.  To do this, you must be a user on the plan review - a subcode official associated with one of the review groups on this plan, the administrator who started the plan review or a town admin.  A couple of notes:
    1. If any tasks are open, you will not be able to start the plan review.
    2. If there are any prior approvals that exist on the permit, you can start the review, but the clock will not start.

You will be prompted to confirm this choice.

Reviewing the Plans

Find your review group on the overview page, and hit the review button. 

Now you’ll be on the plans - you can use any of the markup tools along the top to add markups to your plan.
 


 

All markups will default to “private” which means that they are only for you as the user / reviewer. On the markup, that is indicated by the single person icon in upper right hand corner and the green status bubble labeled “private”:

If you would like to share them with the other reviewers / town users you can click the icon to change it to “internal”.  Click the two person icon (first screenshot below).  Once it has updated it will replace the single person icon in the upper right hand corner and the green status bubble will now be orange and say “internal” (second screenshot).

              

If this markup requires action from the applicant / project owner, click the three-person icon to change it to “public” (first screenshot below). This will change the icon in the top right to show the three-person public icon and change the status bubble to “public” (second screenshot below).  If any markups are set to public you will only be able to fail the review. 

     

Using the down arrow under the details side menu you can access other options such as page approvals, stamps, plan comparisons, etc.


Passing / Failing the Plans

When you’re done with your review and markups, you can pass or fail your review group / subcode. Do this on the Plan Review overview page, in your review group section by clicking the three-dot menu.
 
You will only be able to Pass the plan review for your review group if you have not added any public markups to your review:

 
You will only be able to fail the plan review for your review group if you have at least 1 public markup on your review: 

 
Once all review groups have entered their plan review status, you are able to release or deny the plans in the Next Steps box:

          

 
If additional tasks are needed to be completed by the project owner, you can first add those in the “Add Project tasks” section and they will need to fulfill those tasks before submitting for re-review. This can include things like submitting a new set of plans:

 
When you’re ready to deny the plan review, hit the Deny button to send all markups and tasks back to the project owner

 
You will not be able to restart the clock for the re-review until any pending tasks have been completed.

 
When you’re ready to re-review you can hit “Update State” which will reset the clock.  After this review is completed, the markups corrected by the project owner will need to be resolved by the plan reviewer.

 

When you’re ready to pass the plans, and all review groups have been passed, navigate back over to the Next Steps section and select Release.